Everyone who studies meteorology as their major or minor is welcome to join Synop.

How to become a member

You can become a member of Synop by paying a fee of 1 Euro to our treasurer. If you prefer paying by bank transfer, you may contact us and ask for further instructions. For alumni, the membership fee is 5 Euros.

Now you may also join or re-new your membership for the year 2022 online with the links below! NB, please remember to pay the fee after you have filled the form, because your membership can only be accepted after we have received your payment.

Become a new member

Re-new your membership

How to study meteorology at the University of Helsinki

Bachelor’s programme in physics

The bachelor’s programme in physics consists of 180 ECTS, of which 25 ECTS can be allocated to meteorology. These courses on meteorology are provided only in Finnish and in Swedish. If you study in any other bachelor’s programme at the University of Helsinki, you can choose meteorology as your minor (15-25 ECTS).

Master’s programme in atmospheric sciences (ATM-MP)

The Master’s programme in atmospheric sciences consists of 120 ECTS and there are six study lines to choose from: Aerosol physics, Geophysics of the hydrosphere, Meteorology, Biogeochemical cycles, Remote sensing, and Atmospheric chemistry and analysis. This programme is provided in English.


If you have any questions, feel free to contact our board: synop-ry[at]helsinki.fi. You may also send us an anonymous message and feedback via this form. Upcoming events you may found from a calendar in here and if you have any event ideas or wishes to share with us you can tell those on this Flinga page.

If you want to meet fellow meteorology students, feel free to join Synop ry’s telegram-group! The rules of the group can be found form here.